Hall of Fame

The Texas Intercollegiate Press Association Hall of Fame was established in 2001 “to recognize individuals from TIPA institutions who have distinguished themselves, earned recognition, established a professional reputation and upheld the highest standards in their chosen field including the field of journalism, journalism education or student media.” The first induction took place at the 2002 convention in Fort Worth.

The Hall of Fame Selection Committee includes the TIPA executive director, TIPA student officers, TIPA faculty adviser officers and TCCJA (Texas Community College Journalism Association) officers.

The Hall of Fame is located on the first floor of the Journalism Building on the campus of Texas A&M University-Commerce in Commerce, Texas. This is also the location of the TIPA Central Office.

Each inductee is recognized in the Hall of Fame with a portrait, a nameplate under the portrait and a biography on display.

Anyone may nominate a person for Hall of Fame consideration. Send the nominee’s name, Texas college/university affiliation, a brief bio of the individual and a brief statement concerning the individual’s involvement college/university journalism education or student media.  Also, if available, please include a means of contact for the nominee. Send all information to: TIPA Hall of Fame, Texas A&M University-Commerce, Box 4104, Commerce, TX 75429 OR email to Fred.Stewart@tamuc.edu.

There is no deadline for submitting nominations.