Warms, Mike

Mike Warms

Each year, TIPA presents a minimum of nine scholarships to students during the annual spring convention. One student from each member institution is eligible to apply for a TIPA scholarship. A selection committee of previous year’s scholarship recipients and their faculty advisers review application packets and select the scholarship recipients.

Students from 4-year institutions may apply for one of four Frank W. Buckley Scholarships. Buckley, of Southwest Texas State University (now Texas State University – San Marcos), served TIPA as the organization’s first executive director.

Henderson, Jeff

Jeff Henderson

Students from 2-year institutions may apply for one of four Mike Warms Memorial Community College Scholarships. Warms was publications adviser at Trinity Valley Community College and died Dec. 24, 1991.

Students with a minimum 3.0 grade point average may apply for the one Jeff Henderson Scholarship for Journalism Excellence. Established in 2001, this scholarship is available to both 2-year and 4-year students and is named in honor of Jeff Henderson who served as executive director of TIPA for more than 20 years.

For additional information, contact the TIPA Central Office.

Scholarship Application